Vivien Feil: Kingpin, “Pearls of Wisdom”

Greetings y’all and Happy 2012!

Thanks for coming to visit this piece of a dump I call a blog. It all started because I wanted to share a piece of skating from distant lands that don’t always get the attention they deserve. That, and I wanted to put up some interesting original content every once in awhile, and look how that turned out.

The words above from my main man Vivien Feil come from a current issue of Kingpin magazine out of Europe. He has some very cool things to say, so click on the image, and start zooming in. It’s a good read.

It’s interesting, because Vivien talks about getting out and traveling, seeing the world, and exploring new places. This is actually how I met him! It was during 2007 in Japan when I was reading an interview on an art blog with Soy Panday. I found Soy on Myspace and wrote him a quick message about how much I liked his drawings. I signed my message, “An American skateboarder Living in Japan.” (Corny, right?) The next day, I opened up my messages in the “Space,” and there was a response from Soy! He had written to tell me he was coming to Japan for a month and had asked me if his friend Vivien could stay with me. So, I said YES! In the couple weeks that Vivien stayed in my apartment, it was like we were brothers. We ate copius amounts of donuts, drank liters upon liters of alcoholic beverages, and even got a little skating in without getting any sleep.

Moral of the story is, be adventurous, take some risks, and get out there! Enjoy this giant blue orb we call home, and you might even meet some cool people along the way. Try to document it if you can, because you’ll back and be like, “Damn, those were some good times.”

Yeah Vivien! You da man!

Skate on Playa’s!

Leave a Reply

