Taisuke Yokoyama

Today marks one year since the passing of Japanese friend and skateboarder, Taisuke Yokoyama.  I met Taisuke on my first trip to Yokosuka when I stopped into Double Faith skate shop.  It was from then on I would see him at Umi-Kaze Kooen cruising  with some unforgettable style and finesse on a skateboard.  I became good friends with Taisuke and his best friend Hon-chan. A couple months later we all started filming together for Hon-chan’s first video, “Around.”  We were going out a lot together fiilming, staying out, skating sometimes til 4 in the morning, and then wake up the next day and go teach English to people’s children while barely being able to keep my eyes open.  The last time I saw Taisuke was about 2 years ago in Tokyo at Colin Read’s video premiere of, “Tengu.”  It makes me sad knowing that I’ll never see him again, but I am glad to have known such a nice guy.

Leave a Reply

